top of page

New Cover: I See You


I have some exciting news to share! I See You, my debut book released in February this year--which I totally did everything on my own after googling "How To...."--has a new cover!

I loved the old one, I really did. It was a symbol of my daring to dream, give being creative a real go, but honestly, I'm not artistic at all. I don't have that flair to create, the closest I get is photography where the beauty is already there and I only need to capture it in the right lighting, or the best angle.

When I first went to design the cover of I See You I had an idea in my mind what I wanted but it was sooooo hard *snicker* to bring what was in my head onto the screen that I eventually went with the easier format. My idea went into the too-hard *still snickering* basket and I was proud of what I came up with in the long run. It certainly didn't affect sales or people loving Ben and Christian's story!

BUT, the dream was still there, drifting around in my sometimes chaotic mind like a bulldog that just wont let go. And then I "met" Meg from Bawd Designs, and she made me the most kick-arse cover for I Hear You, and then His Pounding... Heart, and the girl has skillzzzzzzz!

I showed her my little cover idea for I Hear You, which I've since deleted in a moment of "Oh my God, that's soooo lame." What she did with that idea--after assuring me mine was great but how about we try this?-- blew my mind away and you've all seen for yourself how awesome that cover is!

So I shared my initial idea for I See You with Meg, trying to convey what was in head head via pictures and garbled FB messages--and she totally nailed it! And still doesn't hate me for being a pain in the arse and changing little things a million times!

What prompted the change now? Well, I made an FB banner the other day for my page, showing all my books, and, well, I'm one of those people who likes things to match. Well, I like things to match if they can. With four kids who are right into self-expression by wearing mismatched socks and pyjama bottoms and tops, and a budget that doesn't allow anything to match homewares-wise, I've learnt to let my perfection issues go. Like, way go, to the middle of the Great Sandy Desert with no water go. This cover, though, I could get to match, and it's the final brushstroke on the book that made dreams come true for me.

I hope you love it as much as I do--those colours, though, right? I'm going to toddle off now and start changing things across all the platforms, more procrastinating from my writing I know, but it eases something inside me and I can focus again.

Have a wonderful weekend coming up, and loads of love and light xx

P.S Here's a link for Bawd Designs if you want to check out Meg's work or organise something amazing for your own covers! http://www.megbawden.com/


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page